Saturday, April 19, 2008

Voices from The Newbery Medal Past

In case you haven’t heard the news yet, Laura Amy Schlitzs’ work for Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! has been awarded the 2008 Newbery Medal for children’s literature. Click here to read the full article in The Baltimore Sun.

According to Candlewick editor, Mary Lee Donovan, Schlitz’s book Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! was the most exciting submission she has had in her 23-year career. Congratulations to Laura Amy Schlitz!

Take note: It was an editorial assistant who plucked Laura Schlitz’s manuscript from the dreaded slush pile, (which is the first stop for All manuscripts.) This is encouraging, to me at least, because it means hope is alive for every writer who sends a piece of their soul to unknown hands.

Newbery Medal winners are selected for their distinguished contribution to American Literature for children. I have selected four past Newbery Medal winners to read and will be posting book reviews on them in the coming weeks. The subject matter of each book is timeless because they deal with a specific period of time in our history.

Past Newbery winners are: Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (ages 12 to 14, awarded 1998)

Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George (ages 10 and up, awarded 1973)

Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech (ages 8 – 12, awarded 1994)

Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski (mid-grade, awarded 1946) .

Stay Tuned.